Postal address:

PO Box 38344, Wellington Mail Centre, Lower Hutt 5045

Physical address:

Pelorus Trust Sports House, 93 Hutt Park Road, Seaview, Lower Hutt 5010

Telephone: +64 4 560 0360

Fax: +64 4 560 0040


  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
Sport NZ Translation Full White.png

Thank you to Sport New Zealand for the kind support in making this website possible.

© 2020 by Special Olympics New Zealand

Athlete Leaders

Athlete Leaders speak in their community and around New Zealand at seminars and conferences. They address functions and community groups about intellectual disability, Special Olympics and their experiences. Athlete Leaders influence the community and policy makers on issues of concern to the intellectual disability community and have the confidence and skills to respond positively and proactively around issues important to the intellectual disability community.

Athletes who have gone through Athlete Leadership training are qualified to apply to be an Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger. Every four years, 10 athletes from around the world are selected to train and serve as International Global Messengers.

From left: Grace Payne, Rachell Prestidge

Athlete Leadership Classes

Class of 2019

From left: Ben Oaten, Tegan Crotty, Sarah Dalton, Sean Tremlett.

Class of 2018

From top left: Carolyn Young (Special Olympics NZ), Wade Ledingham, Oscar Stace, Liz King (Special Olympics NZ), Hilary Bryan (The Training Practice), Shonagh Clarke, Ryan Stewart, Monique Irvine, Alice Robb

Class of 2017

From top left: Rachel Harvie, Stephen Waite, Gary Albright, James Wilson, Toby Adams, Catherine Boyle, Grace Payne, Portia Johnson, Laura Davis

Class of 2016

From top left: James Farrell, Michael Banner, Lisa Donald, Daniel Casbolt, Alex Johnsen, Mohit Chand, Rochelle Waters, James Bott

Class of 2015

From top left: Emma Holderness (The Training Practice), August Landrebe, Sam Donaldson, Martin Joyce, Lois Aitkenhead (Special Olympics Nelson), Julia Sanson (Special Olympics NZ), Rachell Prestidge, Conrad Ryan, Vicki Pere, Hamish Hurst, Stacey Parker

Class of 2014

From back left: Troy Rangi, Kyle Harpur, Philip Lomas, Scot Jackson, Ryan Smith, Lois Aitkenhead (Special Olympics Nelson), Julia Sanson (Special Olympics NZ), Kathy Gibson (Special Olympics NZ), Anthony Doak, Matthew Smith, Nicky Wagner (MP)

Class of 2013

Andrew Oswin, Eru Whakatihi, Hayley Long, Jacob Osborne, Jason Ewens, Josie Noble, Naomi Jackson, Paul Hunter and Stephanie Davis

Class of 2012

Chelsea Thorn, Craig Torrance, Joshua Fergusson, Melissa Donoghue, Nigel Simmons, Raymond Smith, Teresa Nicol, Thomas Loftus and William Burr

Class of 2011

Athol Tipene, Charlie Smith, Chris Rielly, Chris Tilley, Ella Sharples, Frank Green, Grant McKenzie, Jason Donovan, Judith Porter, Kym O’Grady, Michael Conder and Thomas van der Lugt

Class of 2010

Andrew Boyce, Chris Linnell, Chrystal Frethey, Dale Smit, Fiona Strong, Graeme Porter, Hamish Taverner, Matt Aitken, Michael Holdsworth and Rebecca Heath