Your region

Here's where you can find the details about your local club, including:

  • What sports are currently available.

  • Contact details of each club.

  • Regional Sports Coordinators (RSCs) for each region.

To join a club or find out more: email or phone your local club or RSC. You'll find their contact details below.
You are welcome to join as an athlete, volunteer or coach.

With clubs all over New Zealand, we're here to ensure everyone with an intellectual disability has a chance to get fit, meet lots of people and have heaps of fun!

Scroll down to find your local club or click on a link below skip to your region:

North Island Clubs

 

South Island Clubs

North Island Clubs

 

Upper North Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinators (RSCs)

 

Helen Ferguson

Email: helenf@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 231 4351

Scott Vaughan

Email: scottv@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 505 4673

Niall Thompson

Email: niallt@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 567 9495

Auckland

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Snowsports, Swimming 

Contact: Mike Ringrose

Email: auckland@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 021 531 271

Facebook page: Special Olympics Auckland

Bay of Islands 

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian 

Contact: Nicole Grimme

Email: bayofislands@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 021 151 1105

Counties 

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table Tennis 

Contact: Rowena Massey

Email: rowmassey7@gmail.com

Phone: 021 921 902

Facebook group: Special Olympics Counties NZ

Greenhithe 

 

Sports: Basketball, Football 

Contact: Jacqueline Adams

Email: greenhithe@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Greenhithe

Hibiscus Coast 

 

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Snow Sports, Swimming 

Contact: Lorraine Skelton

Email: hcsolorraine@gmail.com

Phone: 027 230 8808

Facebook page: Special Olympics Hibiscus Coast

Howick-Pakuranga

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table tennis 

Contact: Laurinne Laing

Email: laurinne@xtra.co.nz

Phone: 021 150 1034

Facebook page: Special Olympics Howick-Pakuranga

Māngere 

 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Bocce, Basketball
Contact: Maria Lee

Email: anamarialee@gmail.com

Phone: 021 266 1317 

Manukau

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Swimming 

Contact: Annette Thorn

Email: manukau@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 021 174 9283

Facebook page: Special Olympics Manukau

North Harbour 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football, Golf, Indoor Bowls, Snowsports, Swimming 

Contact: Carolyn Pape

Email: northharbour@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook group: Special Olympics North Harbour

Papakura

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Swimming  

Contact: Karen Smith

Email: papakura@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Papakura

Tamaki

 

Sports: Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Snowsports, Swimming, Table tennis 

Contact: Mark Borkin

Email: tamaki@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Tamaki

Waitakere

 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Basketball , Football (soccer), Golf, Snowsports , Swimming 

Contact: Paul Misselbrook

Email: waitakere@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Waitakere

Whāngarei 

 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Indoor bowls, Swimming 

Contact: Martin Barrie

Email: martinbarrie10@gmail.com

Phone: 021 118 2422 

Facebook page: Special Olympics Whangarei

Central North Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

 

Colleen Black

Email: colleenb@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 443 6228

Rotorua

 

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Swimming, Bocce

Contact: Stella McLeod

Email: rotorua@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 07 348 5889 

Club website: specialolympicsrotorua.co.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Rotorua

 

Thames Valley

 

Sports: Athletics, Bocce, Golf, Indoor bowls, Swimming

Contact: Anna Walters

Email: specialolympicsthamesvalley@gmail.com

Phone: 022 312 0459 

Facebook page: Special Olympics Thames Valley

 

Taupō

 

Sports: Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Swimming

Contact: Char Tawhai

Email: taupo@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Taupo

 

Tauranga

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting,  Swimming, Snowsports

Contact: Susan Salamonson

Email: tauranga@specialolympics.org.nz

 

Te Awamutu

 

Sports: Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Catherine Clark

Email: teawamutu@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 844 2287 

Facebook group: Special Olympics Te Awamutu

 

Waikato

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Powerlifting,  Swimming 

Contact: Nicky Johnson

Email: waikato@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 749 6449

Club website: specialolympicswaikato.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Waikato

 

 

 

Lower North Island Clubs

 

Regional Sports Coordinators (RSCs)

 

Jemma Drake

Email: jemmad@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 555 1944

Tristen Mathieson

Email: tristenm@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 447 7074

Gisborne

This club is coming soon. If you're based in Gisborne, let us know if you're interested and what sports you'd like to do!

Contact: Jemma Drake

Email: jemmad@specialolympics.org.nz

Hawke's Bay

 

Sports: Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Snowsports, Swimming, Basketball 

Contact: Margaret Baker

Email: hawkesbay@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Hawke's Bay  

Horowhenua

 

Sports: Basketball, Swimming, Indoor Bowls, Bocce, Snowsports

Contact: Cheryl Burden

Email: jessica97cheryl@gmail.com

Phone: 027 311 3700 

Hutt Valley

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Powerlifting, Snowsports, 

Swimming 

Contact: Dave Burrowes

Email: huttvalley@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Hutt Valley

Kāpiti

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Snowsports, Swimming 

Contact: Anne Cheetham

Email: kapiti@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Kapiti

 

Mana

 

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Swimming 

Contact: Helen Brookes

Email: mana@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Mana

Manawatū

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Golf,  Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table Tennis 

Contact: Helen Johnson

Email: manawatu@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 258 8558

Facebook page: Special Olympics Manawatu

North Taranaki

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Golf, Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Ian Mischefski

Email: northtaranaki@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 447 4303

Facebook page: Special Olympics North Taranaki

 

Wairarapa

 

Sports: Athletics, Swimming 

Contact: Marilyn Morrison

Email: wairarapa@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Wairarapa

 

Wellington

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Snowsports, Swimming 

Contact: Ravi Kandula

Email: wellington@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page:  Special Olympics Wellington

 

Whanganui

 

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian, Basketball, Bocce, Indoor Bowls

Contact: Jan Bublitz

Email: jrbublitz@hotmail.co.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Whanganui

 


 

South Island Clubs

Upper South Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

 

Graeme Bain

Email: graemeb@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 447 9030

Nelson

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls

Powerlifting, Swimming

Contact: Wendy Littlejohn

Email: nelson@specialolympics.org.nz

 

Motueka

 

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Indoor bowls

Contact: Katrina Anderson

Email: motueka@specialolympics.org.nz

 

Marlborough

 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Swimming

Contact: Cindy Adams-Vining

Email: marlborough@specialolympics.org.nz

 

North Canterbury

 

Sports: Athletics, Bocce, Equestrian, Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Gail McClintock

Email: northcanterbury@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics North Canterbury

 

Mid Canterbury

 

Sports: Bocce, Swimming

Contact: Colleen Lindsay

Email: midcanturbury@specialolympics.org.nz

 

Canterbury

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Helen Mitchell

Email: canterbury@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Canterbury

 

West Coast

 

Sports: Basketball, Equestrian, Golf, Swimming

Contact: Jenny Green

Email: westcoast@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook group: Special Olympics West Coast

Lower South Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

 

Matt McFadyen

Email: mattm@specialolympics.org.nz

Phone: 027 543 7096

South Canterbury

 

Sports: Athletics, Football, Swimming

Contact: John Keenan

Email: southcanterbury@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics South Canterbury

 

North Otago

 

Sports: Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Sue Ruddock

Email: northotago@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics North Otago

Otago

 

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting,

Snowsports, Swimming

Contact: Jo Torrance

Email: otago@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook group: Special Olympics Otago

 

South Otago

 

Sports: Basketball, Bocce, Football, Indoor Bowls

Contact: Joan Ollerenshaw

Email: southotago@specialolympics.org.nz

 

Eastern Southland

 

Sports: Swimming, Bowling (tenpin)

Contact: Susan Shanks 

Email: seshanks@xtra.co.nz

 

Southland

 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports

Swimming

Contact: Renee Cumberland

Email: southland@specialolympics.org.nz

Facebook page: Special Olympics Southland

Excited to get involved right away? Awesome! Check out our resources for getting fit, healthy and connected to our athletes from home:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Postal address:

PO Box 38344, Wellington Mail Centre, Lower Hutt 5045

Physical address:

Pelorus Trust Sports House, 93 Hutt Park Road, Seaview, Lower Hutt 5010
 

Telephone: +64 4 560 0360

Fax: +64 4 560 0040

Email: admin@specialolympics.org.nz

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
Sport NZ Translation Full White.png

Thank you to Sport New Zealand for the kind support in making this website possible.

© 2020 by Special Olympics New Zealand